Tags

,

P1030533 P1030506 (2)

I decided to combine the two images above to make my final piece for the assignment. I was so surprised by the effect of the eye drawing with watercolour pencils on the organza that I kept thinking about it. I also really liked the grassy wood that I did with acrylics.

The idea started out as a sinister image. I wanted to use a fairly dark base fabric, as the organza eyes needed a dark background to show up properly….I was thinking that I would like the effect of having the organza laid on top. I tried this out by painting on small scraps of blue cotton and grey cotton, for the grass. However, when I laid the organza on top it wasn’t possible to see the painting on top at all. So, I had to re-think it and tried out painting the eyes straight onto the cotton.

P1030546

The blue cotton worked better than the grey, as it gave the “night-time” effect I was after. I wanted the eyes to be looking directly at the viewer. The idea was that the viewer is walking through a wood at night and stumbles upon a glade, only to find two huge eyes staring at them…it is hard to tell if they are human, animal or something other-worldly.

As you can see from the bottom samples, I used the foam and roller printing method for my trees, with the Inktense blocks. For the leaves I used my hand-made acetate stencils.

The idea kept evolving.

P1030548

another sketch…more demonic than I wanted!

P1030549 (2)

Practicing large-scale printing for tree on paper.

P1030547

Acetate stencils and acrylic paints to be used as branches and leaves.